100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Kaiser Chiefs

Kaiser Chiefs bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Kaiser Chiefs

Kaiser Chiefs band photo 2014

Kaiser Chiefs Biography

The Alternative-Rock five-piece outfit Kaiser Chiefs was formed in early 2003 in Leeds, ENGLAND, by vocalist Ricky Wilson, guitarist Andrew White, keyboardist Nick Baines, bassist Simon Rix and drummer Nick Hodgson.

First self-financed single, on U.K. indie label Drownedin Sound, "Oh My God" made it to #66 on the British Pop chart despite the fact it was a limited release; the follow-up, "I Predict A Riot", their first proper release after signing to another U.K. indie, B-Unique, shot straight to the fringes of the U.K. Top 20; the quintet also amassed an impressive number of live gigs including co-headlining shows with Kasabian.
Kaiser Chiefs released its debut full-length disc, "Employment", in the spring of 2005 reaching the top 3 in Britain and the third single, "Everyday I Love You Less And Less", hit the top 10. Stateside their second single, "I Predict A Riot", peaked at #34 on The Modern Rock chart while the album reached the #86 position on The Billboard 200.

In February 2007 Kaiser Chiefs released their second album, "Yours Truly, Angry Mob"; the disc peaked at #1 in U.K. producing a British #1 single, "Ruby", as well; the first single off the CD also hit the top 20 of the Billboard's Hot Modern Rock chart. The follow-up single "Everything Is Average Nowadays" peaked at #10 in their native England.

A mere eighteen months since the release of their sophomore album, the multi-million selling band's next full-length disc, entitled "Off With Their Heads", quickly bulleted into the top 2 in U.K. spawning two singles: the top 5 smash "Never Miss A Beat" and the minor hit "Good Days Bad Days". The CD also reached the #55 spot on the American Billboard Top 200 list.

After the release of their third album, Kaiser Chiefs took time out to take stock and work out their next move. Following a well-deserved break the band resurfaced in June 2011 with "The Future Is Medieval" which debuted at #10 on the British chart. However the album did not enjoy the same level of commercial success as its predecessors and the lead-off single, "Little Shocks", failed to dent the chart.

March 2012 saw the Leeds' alt-Rock quintet put out the U.S.-only release "Start The Revolution Without Me"; the 13-song set featured five never-before released songs including the single "On The Run".
Nick Hodgson left the Kaiser Chiefs in late 2012 and was later replaced by drummer Vijay Mistry.

Latest News:

Recorded in Atlanta, the band's fifth album of all new material, "Education, Education, Education & War", will be released on March 31, 2014.


Kaiser Chiefs biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Kaiser Chiefs pictures:

  • Kaiser Chiefs band 2004 Kaiser Chiefs band 2004
    Group shot 2004
  • Kaiser Chiefs 2006 Kaiser Chiefs 2006
    Kaiser Chiefs 2006
  • Kaiser Chiefs band 2011 Kaiser Chiefs band 2011
    Kaiser Chiefs line-up 2011