100 XR Home Page
Listen Now


Keane bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Keane band

Keane photo 2012

Keane Biography

The Alternative-Rock Pop-Rock band from East Battle, Sussex ENGLAND, Keane originally formed in 1997 and were comprised of vocalist Tom Chaplin, guitarist Dominic Scott, pianist Tim Rice-Oxley and drummer Richard Hughes.

When the guys were at collage, they began performing live locally and two years after forming the group self-released a couple of singles.
In 2002 Scott left the band, which continued on as a three-piece playing regularly all over England; they eventually caught the attention of Island Records who released the band's debut album, "Hopes And Fears", in May 2004. The record shot to #1 on The Official British Pop chart while the single "Somewhere Only We Know", two months earlier, crashed into the top 3 of the U.K. Singles chart; the track was also aired on U.S. alt-Rock stations and ended up at #32 on Billboard's Modern Rock chart. The album generated three more British top 10 hits with the #3 "Everybody's Changing", the #4 "Bedshaped" and "This Is The Last Time". Before the year's end "Hopes And Fears" climbed into the top 50 of The Billboard 200 Albums chart and went on to sell 5,5 million copies worldwide, garnering the band two Brit Awards and a Grammy nomination for Best New Artist.

In June 2006 Keane returned with its second album, "Under The Iron Sea"; compared to their debut, it was a dark, brooding affair, powered by the hurt and frustration of a band stretched to breaking point by two years of constant touring. The 12-song set went straight to #1 on the British chart, peaked at #4 in U.S. and reached the #7 position in Canada, it has so far sold over 2 million copies worldwide. The first single off the CD was "Is It Any Wonder?"; it debuted at #3 in U.K. and peaked at #18 on the U.S. Hot Modern Rock Tracks. The buzz for this album was spurred by three more U.K. top 20 hit singles: "Crystal Ball", "Nothing In My Way" and "A Bad Dream".
In August of the same year, the band revealed that frontman Tom Chaplin was treated for drink and drug problems; however in 2007, Keane toured the world, playing sold out shows across Europe, the U.S. and Latin America, including headline gigs to 50,000 Keane fans in Buenos Aires, 15,000 in Amsterdam and 18,000 at London's O2 Arena.

Recorded in Berlin, Paris and London, the group's third album, "Perfect Symmetry", followed in October 2008, once again marking a genuinely impressive stylistic shift. It debuted at #1 in U.K. and #7 in U.S. while its lead single, "Spiralling", became a sizable top 40 hit in various European charts. The band toured "Perfect Symmetry" around the world, playing to packed arenas in 28 countries, from Russia to Australia, Colombia to South Korea and Lebanon to Switzerland.

When they had gaps in their schedule, they would head into studios to work on tracks, not with any particular purpose in mind, just because it's what they enjoy doing most.
Those tracks would eventually come to form a new EP titled "Night Train"; the 8-track set, which was released globally in May 2010, reached the #25 position on the American Billboard Top 200 and hit #1 in Great Britain where the single, "Stop For A Minute" which features Somali-Canadian rapper K'naan, ascended into the top 40.

In May 2012 Keane released their fourth studio album, "Strangeland". The disc, which marked the official debut of bass player Jesse Quin, hit #1 in U.K. and #17 on The Billboard 200 in U.S. but the main single, "Silenced By The Night", failed to make the top 40 in their native England.


Keane biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Keane pictures:

  • Keane band lineup 2004 Keane band lineup 2004
    The band line-up 2004
  • Keane band 2006 Keane band 2006
    Keane 2006