100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

The Kooks

The Kooks bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

The Kooks band

The Kooks photo 2011

The Kooks Biography

The Kooks is a Pop-Rock, Alternative-Rock combo formed in Brighton, ENGLAND, in 2004. Vocalist + guitarist Luke Pritchard, guitarist Hugh Harris, bassist Max Rafferty and drummer Paul Garred debuted in 2005 with a single on U.K. Virgin label.

The track, "Eddie's Gun", which hit the top 40, was followed by a second single, "Sofa Song" and the band's debut full-length disc, "Inside In/Inside Out", in early 2006. The album, which was recorded at The Kinks mastermind Ray Davies' own studio, rose to #2 on the British Official Sales chart; it included "Naive" which broke into the top 10 on the U.K. Singles chart, whilst gliding into the U.S. Hot Modern Rock chart peaking at #22. The album went on to sell over 2 million copies worlwide and made a brief chart appearance on The Billboard 200 in U.S. where another track, "She Moves In Her Own Way", reached the #39 position on The Hot Modern Rock chart.

The Kooks' sophomore album, "Konk", recorded over a six-week period at the end of 2007 in Ray Davies' Konk Studios in London, was released in April 2008 and in the U.K. it reached the #1 position in no time; also its first single, "Always Where I Need To Be", was an immediate British top 3 smash and the second single, "Shine On", peaked at #25. The album's arrival coincided with the announcement that Rafferty had left the band and was replaced by bassist Dan Logan.
In U.S. "Konk" charmed its way into a respectable berth just outside the top 40 of The Billboard 200 while "Always Where I Need To Be" enjoyed a 18-week chart run in The Hot Modern Rock chart and reached #22.
In late 2009 Paul Garred was forced into hiatus by a nerve problem in one of his arms; he was replaced by Chris Prendergast.

September 2011 saw the release of the quartet's next album, "Junk Of The Heart"; the disc climbed into the U.K. top 10 and reached the #68 position on The Billboard 200 in U.S. where the lead single, "Junk Of The Heart (Happy)", went to #20 on The Alternative Songs chart.


The Kooks biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

The Kooks pictures:

  • The Kooks band lineup 2006 The Kooks band lineup 2006
    The band line-up 2006
  • The Kooks band 2008 The Kooks band 2008
    The Kooks 2008

Inside In/Inside Out (2006)

Inside In/Inside Out
1. Seaside
2. See The World
3. Sofa Song
4. Eddie's Gun
5. Ooh La
6. You Don't Love Me
7. She Moves In Her Own Way
8. Matchbox
9. Naive
10. I Want You Back
11. If Only
12. Jackie Big Tits
13. Time Awaits
14. Got No Love

Konk (2008)

1. See The Sun
2. Always Where I Need To Be
3. Mr. Maker
4. Do You Wanna
5. Gap
6. Love It All
7. Stormy Weather
8. Sway
9. Shine On
10. Down To The Market
11. One Last Time
12. Tick Of Time

Junk Of The Heart (2011)

Junk Of The Heart
1. Junk Of The Heart (Happy)
2. How'd You Like That
3. Rosie
4. Taking Pictures Of You
5. Fuck The World Off
6. Time Above The Earth
7. Runaway
8. Is It Me
9. Killing Me
10. Petulia
11. Eskimo Kiss
12. Mr. Nice Guy
The Kooks discography - an exclusive and detailed creation of 100xr.com
The section contains all of The Kooks albums released to date
with original cover art and complete tracklist