100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Lacuna Coil

Lacuna Coil bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Lacuna Coil

Lacuna Coil band photo 2014

Lacuna Coil Biography

The Alternative-Metal band Lacuna Coil began life in the mid-'90s in Milan, ITALY, originally comprised of vocalists Cristina Scabbia and Andrea Ferro, guitarist Cristiano Migliore, bassist + keyboardist Marco Coti Zelati and drummer Cristiano Mozzati.

The group's self-titled debut six-track EP appeared in 1998. Their first full-length album, "In A Reverie", followed a year later and eventually the band decided to enlist the help of guitarist Marco Biazzi; spending the better part of 1999 on the road, the band criss-crossed Europe and created quite a buzz in the Goth-Metal scene.

In October of 2000 Lacuna Coil entered the Woodhouse Studio in Germany for the third time to cut their second LP, "Unleashed Memories", which was released in January 2001; the band embarked on an extensive international tour, traveling stateside for their first U.S. dates in support of the album.

One and half year later the sextet delivered "Comalies", their first overseas success; relentless touring across United States would follow, supporting such acts as Anthrax and Type O Negative as well as garnishing a 2004 Ozzfest slot. "Comalies" eventually rose to #9 on the Billboard's Top Independent Albums chart and hit #174 on The Billboard 200 Sales list highlighted by the active-Rock radio single "Swamped".

In April 2006, Lacuna Coil released its fourth album, "Karmacode", the band's most successful effort to date; the 13-song set shot to #1 on the U.S. Top Independent Albums chart and peaked at #28 on The Billboard 200. The first single, "Our Truth", quickly bulleted into the top 40 of The Hot Mainstream Rock Tracks and also hit the U.K. Top 40 chart. The CD included three more European mid-sized hits including their rendition of Depeche Mode's "Enjoy The Silence", "Closer" and "Within Me".

The Italian goth-metallers made their return to the forefront of the Metal world with the release of "Shallow Life" in April 2009; the album featured the captivating first single "Spellbound" which crested at #30 on The Hot Mainstream Rock chart while the album itself climbed into the top 20 of the U.S. Billboard 200 and stopped just short of the top 40 in Great Britain. In America another single pulled from the CD, "I Won't Tell You", managed to crack the Active Rock top 40 chart.

The band's next offering was "Dark Adrenaline"; released in January 2012, it rose to #15 on The Billboard Top 200 Albums chart and produced the Active Rock radio top 30 hit "Trip The Darkness".

Latest News:

Lacuna Coil has set "Broken Crown Halo" as the title of its new studio album due April 1, 2014 in North America and March 31 in Europe, Australia, New Zealand on Century Media Records.


Lacuna Coil biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Lacuna Coil pictures:

  • Lacuna Coil band late 90s Lacuna Coil band late 90s
    --Early Years--
  • Lacuna Coil band 2002 Lacuna Coil band 2002
    Lacuna Coil 2002
  • Lacuna Coil band 2006 Lacuna Coil band 2006
    Lacuna Coil 2006: Cristiano Mozzati, Cristiano Migliore, Andrea Ferro, Cristina Scabbia, Marco Biazzi & Marco Coti Zelati.