100 XR Home Page
Listen Now


Lostprophets bio, timeline, discography, pics & more


Lostprophets band photo 2012

Lostprophets Biography

Alternative-Metal band formed in the Cardiff satellite town of Pontypridd, WALES, in 1997, by drummer Ian Watkins and guitarist Mike Lewis; when drummer Mike Chiplin and guitarist Lee Gaze joined, Watkins took over vocal duties and Lostprophets were ready to go.

After recording a couple of demo-discs that landed them a contract with Visible Noise, the quartet relocated to London where they bolstered the band's line-up with the addition of bassist Stuart Richardson and keyboardist + turntablist Jamie Oliver.
In the middle of the summer of 2000, Lostprophets released its debut full-length, "The Fake Sound Of Progress", the group supported it by touring with other NuMetal acts such as Linkin Park, Taproot and Deftones.
They signed to Columbia in the United States where the album was re-released a year later breaking into The Billboard Top 200 chart at #186 and the single "Shinobi Vs. Dragon Ninja" entered the top 40 of The Modern Rock chart.

During 2003 the crew set a promotional tour that included an appearance at Big Day Out in Australia and several live performances in Europe, eventually, Lostprophets ended the year recording its second effort "Start Something". The album was released in February 2004 and smashed into the top 40 of The Billboard 200 chart; the main single, "Last Train Home", hit #1 on The Modern Rock chart while "Make A Move" peaked at #9 and "I Don't Know" reached the #11 spot on the same chart. "Last Train Home" was also a sizeable hit in Europe, breaking the U.K. top 10.

2006's "Liberation Transmission" was the Lostprophets' next studio album. Following the 2005 departure of drummer Mike Chiplin, they enrolled Josh Freese behind the drum kit but before the record's completion Ilan Rubin was enlisted as the band's new drummer. Working with highly-regarded producer Bob Rock, the band created a collection of 12 hard-hitting hook-filled modern Rock anthems including the British top 10 smash "Rooftops (A Liberation Broadcast)" as well as two more top 40 hits in "A Town Called Hypocrisy" and "Can't Catch Tomorrow". The disc itself debuted at #1 in U.K. and reached #33 on the American Billboard Top 200 Albums chart. In U.S. the lead single, "Rooftops (A Liberation Broadcast)", was the CD's most successful single, peaking at 15 on The Hot Modern Rock chart.

The long-awaited fourth album, "The Betrayed", was released in January 2010 and quickly catapulted into the top 3 of The U.K. Sales chart but was hardly noticed on the other side of the Atlantic. The disc included two U.K. top 40 hit singles: "It's Not The End Of The World, But I Can See It From Here" and "Where We Belong". The album marked the recording debut of drummer Luke Johnson who replaced Rubin in 2009.

Lostprophets' next outing, "Weapons", was released in April 2012, via Epic Records; it was preceded by an online track titled "Better Off Dead", but the first official single was the album's opener "Bring 'Em Down", which scraped the lower reaches of the Active Rock top 40 chart.

On December 19, 2012, in one of the most heinous, disturbing and shocking Rock news stories in history, it was revealed that Ian Watkins was charged with conspiracy to allegedly engage in sexual activity with a child under the age of 13, along with the possession and distribution of indecent images.
After nearly a year of contemplation, the remaining members of Lostprophets decided to call it quits.
In December 2013 Watkins was finally sentenced to 35 years in prison.


Lostprophets biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Lostprophets pictures:

  • Lostprophets band lineup 2002 Lostprophets band lineup 2002
    The band line-up 2002
  • Lostprophets band 2006 Lostprophets band 2006
    Lostprophets 2006