100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Modest Mouse

Modest Mouse bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Modest Mouse

Modest Mouse photo 2007

Modest Mouse Biography

Originally formed in 1993 as an Alternative-Rock three-piece band and hailing from rural Issaquah, Washington USA, Modest Mouse was comprised of Isaac Brock on vocals + guitar, Eric Judy on bass and Jeremiah Green on drums.

They released their first 7-inch in the spring of 1994 on K Records; it would be a little while before they would go into a studio again to record, this time with enough material for their first full-length release on Up Records, "This Is A Long Drive For Someone With Nothing To Think About", which was recorded in the fall of 1995 and released in February 1996.

The next year saw the release of two albums, "The Lonesome Crowded West" and "The Fruit That Ate Itself", the latter of which again on K Records.

2000 would signal the last release on Up Records, "Building Nothing Out Of Something", which combined the songs from their first live-EP, 1996's "Interstate 8", with the singles that were released on Suicide Squeeze and Subpop.
Right about this time they started working on their first major label release, "The Moon & Antarctica" which was released on Epic that summer; it peaked at #5 on The Billboard Top Heatseekers chart and also crossed over into The Billboard 200 Sales list at #120.

2001 would see the release of Modest Mouse's earliest recordings, the "Sad Sappy Sucker" CD on K Records, as well as an EP of new material, "Everywhere And His Nasty Parlor Tricks" on Epic.

In early 2004 the Issaquah-based trio released its first smash single, "Float On", which rose to #1 on The Modern Rock Tracks and helped catapult "Good News For People Who Love Bad News" to #18 on The Billboard 200 Albums chart; "Ocean Breathes Salty", their second single off the CD, became another Modern Rock top 10 hit.

The Hot Modern Rock top 5 smash, "Dashboard", was the first single from Modest Mouse's fifth full-length disc, "We Were Dead Before The Ship Even Sank", which was recorded at Sweet Tea Studios in Oxford, Mississippi and features the contributions of former Smiths guitarist Johnny Marr and the extra percussion muscle brought by Joe Plummer and Tom Peloso. The CD shot to #1 on both U.S. and Top Canadian Albums charts, upon its March 2007 release and yielded a second Hot Modern Rock top 30 hit single, "Missed The Boat".

In August 2009 Modest Mouse put out a 6-song EP, "No One's First And You're Next", that compiles b-sides and new material including the single "Satellite Skin".


Modest Mouse biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Modest Mouse pictures:

  • Modest Mouse band lineup 2004 Modest Mouse band lineup 2004
    The band line-up 2004