100 XR Home Page
Listen Now


Morningwood bio, timeline, discography, pics & more


Morningwood photo 2009

Morningwood Biography

The Alternative Pop-Rock act Morningwood was formed in New York City, New York USA, when vocalist Chantal Claret met former drummer for The Wallflowers, Pedro Yanowitz at a birthday party for Sean Lennon in 2001. The duo immediately started writing songs together and Yanowitz took over the bass duties; they were later joined by drummer John Paul Keenon O. and former Spacehog guitarist Richard Steel.

The quartet began building their reputation in the city's undergound clubs; after being signed to Capitol Records, in late 2004 Morningwood flew to London to cut their eponymously titled debut full-length disc and toured extensively to support it. The first run of the new year saw co-billing with the British act Kasabian, they followed this up with shows alongside Fischerspooner and also dates with The Von Bondies and The Bravery. The first album, which reached the #102 position on The Billboard 200 chart, was carried off through the brilliance of the singles released to date , including "New York Girls", "Jetsetter" and the Modern Rock top 30 hit "Nth Degree".

In August 2008 Morningwood, now reduced to a duo of Claret and Yanowitz, released the stop-gap 4-song EP "Sugarbaby". The title-track has gotten some airplay at Alternative radio stations.

Their second full album arrived over a year later, in October 2009, "Diamonds And Studs" lifts the sonic textures of their signature Pop-Rock sound and wraps them over a new, beat-driven backbone. The lead single off the CD is "Best Of Me".


Morningwood biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Morningwood pictures:

  • Morningwood band lineup 2005 Morningwood band lineup 2005
    The band line-up 2005

Morningwood (2005)

Morningwood self-titled album
1. Nü Rock
2. Televisor
3. Nth Degree
4. Jetsetter
5. Take Off Your Clothes
6. Body 21
7. Easy
8. Babysitter
9. New York Girls
10. Everybody Rules
11. Ride The Lights

Diamonds And Studs (2009)

Diamonds And Studs
1. Best Of Me
2. Killer Life
3. Hot Tonight
4. How You Know It's Love
5. Snobby Little Elf
6. Sugarbaby
7. Bitches
8. Addicted
9. Bipolar Bear
10. Teenage
11. That's My Tune
12. Three's A Crowd
13. Cat In A Box
Morningwood discography - an exclusive and detailed creation of 100xr.com
The section contains all of Morningwood albums released to date
with original cover art and complete tracklist