100 XR Home Page
Listen Now


Motörhead bio, timeline, discography, pics & more


Motörhead photo 2008

Motörhead Biography

Motörhead is one of the most influential and enduring Heavy-Metal Hard-Rock groups on the planet. The band was founded by vocalist + bassist Ian Fraser 'Lemmy' Kilmister in London, ENGLAND, in 1975, originally under the name of Bastard.
A year later, with guitarist Larry Wallis and drummer Lucas Fox, the band recorded "On Parole" but the label rejected the album, it was issued three years later after the group achieved success.

The official self-titled debut album came out in 1977, when Motörhead featured Lemmy, 'Fast' Eddie Clarke on guitar and Phil 'Philthy Animal' Taylor on drums.

In the spring of 1979, the trio released "Overkill", it entered the U.K. Albums chart at #24 and generated their first top 40 hit single, the title-track of the album.
During the same year, followed, after several concerts, another album, "Bomber", which reached the #12 position in chart.

1980's "Ace Of Spades" peaked at #4 on the British Albums chart and the legendary title-track, the one trademark song that would summarize everything that made this early incarnation of the band so legendary, climbed into the U.K. Top 20 Singles chart.

Two years later the threesome issued "Iron Fist", another British top 10 LP for Motörhead and once again the album's title-cut opened in the top 40; while they became heroes in Britain, it took the band several years to break into the American market, but they finally did it and "Iron Fist" broke into the U.S. Pop Albums chart at #174. Eddie Clarke left after this release, Lemmy recruited guitarist Brian Robertson for the album supporting tour.

The new line-up recorded "Another Perfect Day" and released it in mid-1983 debuting inside the top 20 in U.K. and reaching #153 on the U.S. Top 200 LPs & Tapes chart; the album also included two minor hits: "I Got Mine" and "Shine".

Robertson departed toward the end of the year and was replaced by two guitarists, Phillip Campbell and Michael 'Wurzel' Burston. Thus reconfigured, in 1984, Motörhead released the hit single "Killed By Death" which became part of the double-disc anthology "No Remorse".

After two years out of the spotlight, the group resurfaced with a new studio album, "Orgasmatron", recorded with ex-Saxon, Peter Gill behind the drum kit. The disc failed to crack the U.K. Top 20 in sales and stuttered at #157 on The Billboard 200 chart.

Phil Taylor was back on drums, for 1987's "Rock 'N' Roll"; the band's ninth LP of original material duplicated the chart success of its predecessor and the amusing single, "Eat The Rich", perhaps the album's only true highlights, never entered the U.K. chart.
A live-album entitled "No Sleep At All" followed a year later.

In 1990 Lemmy Kilmister, signed a deal with WTG-Sony and relocated in the States where recorded "1916", Motörhead's most successful album in America, it reached the #142 position on The Billboard Top 200 chart and received a nomination for the Grammy award for Best Metal Album.

Taylor was fired before the sessions for the 1992's "March Or Die", to be replaced by Mikkey Dee; the album didn't chart in the U.S. and Motörhead was ultimately dropped from WTG.

After their commercially minded and only, major-label release the band returned to a more familiar sonic formula, extremely loud and fast, on the next album, "Bastards" which was released in 1993 and distributed through ZYX; it included the U.K minor hit single "Born To Raise Hell".

In July 1995 the Heavy-Metal heroes roar back with their thirteenth studio album, "Sacrifice"; after completing the record Wurzel quit.

Motörhead continued as a threee-piece issuing "Overnight Sensation" a year later.
"Snake Bite Love" followed in March 1998, again, to no significant sales.

No matter how many years the band toils on, the iconic Lemmy Kilmister refused to change the basic hard and fast rules of his band and in May of 2000 they churned out "We Are Motörhead".

Exactly two years later, they followed it up with "Hammered", yet another fine Motörhead album that sold well to his dedicated fan base.

In 2003 Lemmy participated in a collaborative recording project called Probot, headed by Foo Fighters' Dave Grohl in which the founder member of Motörhead performed on the first single, "Shake Your Blood".

Motörhead released their next album, "Inferno", in June 2004; the disc took the band back into the U.K. Official Sales chart after twelve years' absence.

"Kiss Of Death" followed two years later, reaching the top 50 in U.K. and hitting #20 on the U.S. Top Independent Albums chart.

In August 2008 the group issued their nineteenth studio record and had its U.S. highest charting album ever as "Motörizer" debuted at #82 on The Billboard 200. In U.K. the disc hit the top 40.

Motörhead returmed in late 2010 with a Rock-rooted single entitled "Get Back In Line" which was contained in "The Wörld is Yours", this record peaked at #12 on the U.S. Top Independent Albums chart.

In October 2013 the legendary Lemmy Kilmister, Campbell and Dee released the band's 21st studio album: "Aftershock".


Motörhead biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Motörhead pictures:

  • Motörhead original lineup mid 70s Motörhead original lineup mid 70s
    The original line-up, left to right: Phil Taylor, Lemmy Kilmister and 'Fast' Eddie Clarke