100 XR Home Page
Listen Now


Mudhoney bio, timeline, discography, pics & more


Mudhoney photo 2008
from left: Steve Turner, Guy Maddison, Mark Arm and Dan Peters

Mudhoney Biography

Though Mudhoney were responsible for much of the way Grunge sounded, influencing many bands, they have never achieved substantial commercial success. The group was formed in January 1988 in Seattle, Washington USA, by singer + guitarist Mark Arm, guitarist Steve Turner, bassist Matt Lukin and drummer Dan Peters.

Later that year, they released their first single, "Touch Me I'm Sick" and a 6-track EP called "Superfuzz Bigmuff", both on Sub Pop Records. The underground success of these releases led to the creation and development of the Grunge movement and in mid-1989 Mudhoney delivered their eponymous debut full-length album which included the alt-Rock radio hit "You Got It".

The group released their second LP, "Every Good Boy Deserves Fudge", in the summer of 1991, preceded by the single "Let It Slide"; the disc scored generally positive reviews and shortly thereafter the band landed a new deal with Reprise Records.

Though their next LP, "Piece Of Cake", came out under the umbrella of Warner Bros. it didn't rise higher than #189 on The Billboard Top 200 chart upon its October 1992 release; nonetheless, the album climbed to #9 on the Billboard Top Heatseekers list, while the lead single, "Suck You Dry", reached the #23 position on The Modern Rock chart.

Released in spring 1995 as the follow-up to the band's major-label debut, Mudhoney's fourth studio album, "My Brother The Cow", wasn't as successful as its predecessor and made only a brief appearance in the Top Heatseekers chart, peaking at #21.

The Seattle rockers returned in September 1998 with "Tomorrow Hit Today", but the three year gap had seemingly lost the band a number of fans, as sales were disappointing.

Mudhoney subsequently parted ways with Reprise and longtime bass player Matt Lukin left the group shortly after it was dropped from the label.

In January 2000 the band issued a double-CD collection, "March To Fuzz", on Sub Pop, the first disc compiles 22 tracks from 1988 to 1998, while the second includes b-sides and rarities.
In the meantime Guy Maddison was welcomed into the fold as the new permanent bass player.

After developing side project and solo careers amidst rumors of a breakup Mudhoney resurfaced in the middle of the summer of 2002 with "Since We've Become Translucent", their first album of new material in four years which was recorded in just one week.

Another three and a half years passed before Mudhoney delivered their seventh studio album; "Under A Billion Suns" was issued by Sub Pop in March 2006.

Featuring 100 XR favourite track "I'm Now", their next release, "The Lucky Ones", followed in May 2008.

Latest News:

The new Mudhoney album, "Vanishing Point", will be released by Sub Pop on April 2, 2013.


Mudhoney biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Mudhoney pictures:

  • Mudhoney band lineup early 90s Mudhoney band lineup early 90s
    The band line-up 1992
  • Mudhoney band 2002 Mudhoney band 2002
    Mudhoney 2002