100 XR Home Page
Listen Now


MxPx bio, timeline, discography, pics & more


MxPx photo 2011

MxPx Biography

Vocalist + bassist & songwriter Mike Herrera, guitarist Andy Husted and drummer Yuri Ruley first got together in 1992, when they were still in high school, to form the Christian-themed Punk-Pop band MxPx .

The Bremerton, Washington USA-based trio soon recorded a number of singles and in 1994 assembled their debut full-length disc, "Pokinatcha", that caught the attention of Tooth & Nail Records.
Around this time, Husted left the band to continue college and was replaced by guitarist Tom Wisniewski.

The label issued their second album, "Teenage Politics", in mid-1995, it broke into the top 20 of the Billboard Magazine's Top Contemporary Christian chart.
"Life In General" followed in late 1996 with a formula that would similar chart impact.

MxPx were picked-up by A&M Records in 1998, in an arrangement with Tooth & Nail and in June the group's fourth album, "Slowly Going The Way Of The Buffalo", was released; the record crashed into the top 100 of The Billboard 200 Sales chart and became a big hit on Billboard's Top Contemporary Christian chart falling just one position short of #1 and spawning a minor Rock radio hit single in "I'm OK, You're OK".
Before the year's end, MxPx toured with Bad Religion in support of their major label debut and delivered another album, the 32-track CD "Let It Happen", a collection of demos, B-sides and previously unreleased songs, which hit the top 10 of the Contemporary Christian chart.

In July 1999, the band issued the concert albun "At The Show" on Tooth & Nail; the live set peaked at #5 on the Billboard's Contemporary Christian chart.

Less than a year later, in May 2000, MxPx re-emerged with its all-new studio album titled "The Ever Passing Moment"; their second release for A&M shot to #1 on The Top Contemporary Christian chart and reached the #56 spot on The Billboard 200 producing a couple of alt-Rock radio singles: "My Life Story" and "Responsibility", the latter of which charted inside the top 30 of the Billboard's Modern Rock Tracks.

Two years later, to celebrate their first decade together, the guys released another CD-compilation, the aptly-titled "Ten Years And Running".
"Before Everything And After", their third outing for A&M Records, was prefaced by the single "Everything Sucks (When You're Gone)" and finally released in September 2003; it peaked at #51 on The Billboard Top 200 chart.

"Panic", which marked their return to the indie scene, was issued on Side One Dummy Records in June 2005 reaching #77 on The Billboard 200 and became the band's second Christian #1 album; it included the single "Heard That Sound".

The trio returned in October 2006 with "Let's Rock", a 12-song CD of unreleased and rare material stretching back to the 2000 "Ever Passing Moment" recording sessions; the set featured a new single/video titled "Breathe Deep".

Coming full circle in their illustrious career, in 2007 MxPx rejoined forces with Tooth & Nail Records over 10 years since their first release. Released in July of that same year, "Secret Weapon", found the band partnering once again with producer Aaron Sprinkle, who manned the controls on some of the band's first demos and the first LP "Pokinatcha". The disc debuted at #1 on The Top Christian Albums chart and reached #76 on The Billboard 200.

In April 2012, the seminal Pop-Punk trio celebrated their twentieth anniversary with the release of "Plans Within Plans", their first album of original material in five years, the longest gap to date between studio releases. The album's first single, "Far Away", is a classic MxPx tune: hard-charging verses explode into a balls-to-the-wall, mega chorus.


MxPx biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

MxPx pictures:

  • MxPx band 2000 MxPx band 2000
    Group shot 2000
  • MxPx 2003 MxPx 2003
    MxPx 2003
  • MxPx 2005 MxPx 2005
    MxPx in 2005