100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Nine Inch Nails

Nine Inch Nails bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Nine Inch Nails photo 2013
Trent Reznor, Josh Eustis and Robin Finck in studio

Nine Inch Nails Biography

The Industrial outfit Nine Inch Nails isn't really a group but is a creation of the multi-instrumentalist + vocalist Trent Reznor. Born 17 May 1965, in Mercer, Pennsylvania USA, Reznor began his music career working in a Cleveland recording studio and playing in local bands.

During 1989, he signed a deal with TVT Records, teamed up with guitarist Richard Patrick and drummer Chris Vrenna to record Nine Inch Nails' debut full-lenght album, "Pretty Hate Machine", which was issued in November; the record reached the #75 slot on The Billboard Top 200 chart spawning "Down In It", which peaked at #16 on The Modern Rock Tracks chart and the top 30 hit, "Head Like A Hole"; one more single, "Sin", cracked the top 10 of the Billboard Magazine's Hot Dance chart.
In 1991 the NIN frontman enlisted the help of keyboardist James Woolley and supported the band's debut album by appearing on the Lollapalooza tour; "Pretty Hate Machine", eventually was certified platinum for sales of one million copies two years after its release.

After Reznor signed with Interscope, that helped him set up his own record label, Nothing Records, in September of 1992 returning with a shortened line-up, Nine Inch Nails released an 8-song EP entitled "Broken", the record rose to #8 on The Billboard 200 chart and generated "Happiness In Slavery" which peaked at #13 on The Modern Rock Tracks chart; the second single, "Wish", was another Modern Rock top 30 hit and won Reznor a Grammy for Best Metal Performance.

Two years later, after Richard Patrick left the band to form Filter, a re-energized Nine Inch Nails: Reznor, new guitarist Robin Finck, bass player Danny Lohneer, Woolley and Vrenna, released the band's second full-length album, "The Downward Spiral"; the record shot to #2 on The Billboard Top 200 and cracked the top 10 on the U.K. Albums charts; the first single off the CD, "Closer", peaked at #11 on The Modern Rock chart and "Piggy" hit the top 20; the band scored huge club success with "March Of The Pigs" and the final single, "Hurt", rose to #8 on The Modern Rock chart.

During 1995 Trent Reznor built an incredible studio in New Orleans, afterwards he released the U.S. only remix album "Further Down The Spiral", reaching the #23 position on Billboard's Top 200 and produced Marilyn Manson's "Antichrist Superstar" which was released on Nothing Records; he also found time to create a soundtrack for Oliver Stone's cult teen movie "Natural Born Killers"; eventually Nine Inch Nails, at the 38th Annual Grammy ceremony, walked away with Best Metal Performance for "Happiness In Slavery".
Two years later Vrenna left the band to be replaced by drummer Jerome Dillon and Reznor worked with David Lynch, producing the soundtrack for "Lost Highway", this album included "The Perfect Drug", which reached #11 on The Modern Rock Tracks chart.

Nine Inch Nails returned in autumn 1999 with the acclaimed double-CD, "The Fragile"; the set debuted at #1 in U.S. and at #2 on the Top Canadian Albums charts spawning three Billboard's Modern Rock top 40 single cuts: "Into The Void", "We're In This Together" and "Starfuckers, Inc.", plus "The Day The World Went Away" which was a massive hit, reaching #1 on The Canadian Singles chart and #17 on The Billboard Hot 100 Stateside.
The next year, the group went on to release another remix full-length disc, which barely broke the top 60 on the U.S. Albums chart.
The soundtrack to the motion picture "Tomb Raider", released in mid-2001, included Nine Inch Nails' "Deep", the track climbed into the top 20 of Modern Rock chart; the next year the band released the live album "And All That Could Have Been", reaching #26 on The Billboard Top 200 list.

Trent Reznor with the band released in early May 2005 the monster hit album "With Teeth"; the record which also featured guest drummer Dave Grohl from Foo Fighters, shot to #1 on The Billboard 200 and peaked at #2 on Top Canadian Albums charts; the powerful first single track, "The Hand That Feeds", stormed the Modern and Mainstream Rock charts peaking at #1 and #2, respectively; both of the follow-up singles, "Only" and "Every Day Is Exactly The Same" went to #1 on The Modern Rock chart.

In April 2007 Nine Inch Nails unleashed the apocalyptic concept album, "Year Zero", the album reflects Reznor's pessimistic predictions of the world 15 years into the future where the U.S. has turned into a police state. The disc debuted at #2 on The Billboard 200 while the first single, "Survivalism", shot to #1 on The Hot Modern Rock list; it was followed into the same chart by the second single, "Capital G", which peaked at #6.
On October 8, the band had severed all ties with its longtime label, Interscope Records, a month later Nine Inch Nails dropped the remix album "Y34RZ3R0R3MIX3D"; the set features a diversity of remixers, from New Order's Stephen Morris to hip-hop poet Saul Williams and an unknown fan who submitted a remix via the Internet. This was the final album released under Interscope and it reached #77 on The Billboard 200 chart.

To celebrate his freedom, in March 2008, Reznor released the NIN's collection of 36 untitled instrumental tracks "Ghosts I-IV"; it was conceived as an experiment, following the conclusion of "Year Zero", Trent Reznor enlisted Atticus Ross and Alan Moulder with help from guitarist Adrian Belew, keyboardist Alessandro Cortini and The Dresden Dolls' drummer Brian Viglione to create spontaneous, impulsive soundtracks to daydreams with no agenda or release date, only a self-imposed 10-week time limit. The end result was a wildly varied body of work released in its entirety with no label-imposed limitations–musical, physical or otherwise. "Ghosts I-IV" arrived in five differently priced formats, from free download to a $300 ultra-deluxe limited edition, peaking at #14 in U.S. and at #3 in Canada.
Two months later Nine Inch Nails churned out a full-fledged vocal album "The Slip" which debuted at #13 on The Billboard 200 and its first single, "Discipline", " quickly ascended into the top 10 of The Hot Modern Rock chart.

"Hesitation Marks", the first Nine Inch Nails album in half a decade was released in September 2013. The disc's first single, "Came Back Haunted", hit #7 on The Alternative Songs and #13 on The Rock Songs charts.


Nine Inch Nails biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Nine Inch Nails pictures:

  • Nine Inch Nails band lineup 2000 Nine Inch Nails band lineup 2000
    The band line-up 2000
  • NIN band - 2005 NIN band - 2005
    NIN band - 2005
  • Nine Inch Nails 2006 Nine Inch Nails 2006
    Nine Inch Nails - 2006
  • Nine Inch Nails in 2008 Nine Inch Nails in 2008
    Nine Inch Nails in 2008