100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Norma Jean

Norma Jean bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Norma Jean

Norma Jean band photo 2013

Norma Jean Biography

The Alternative-Metal Christian Metalcore unit Norma Jean formed in their native Douglasville, Georgia USA, in the late '90s. Originally comprised of vocalist Josh Scogin, guitarists Chris Day and Scottie Henry, bassist Josh Doolittle and drummer Daniel Davison, Norma Jean rose from the ashes of the band Luti-Kriss who changed their name to Norma Jean to avoid confusion with the controversial rapper Ludacris, who, coincidentally, is from the Atlanta area.

In 2001 the quintet signed a contract with Seattle's Solid State label, a subsidiary of Tooth & Nail Records and in August of the following year they released their debut album, "Bless The Martyr And Kiss The Child". Josh Scogin, left the band just before the release of the disc and went on to start a new band.

The original bass player was replaced by Jake Schultz in 2003 and with the follow-up, "O God, The Aftermath", the group welcomed new vocalist and Arkansas native Cory Brandan to their line-up and took their artful, technical noise to the proverbial next level; the album debuted at #1 on The Top Christian chart upon its March 2005 release, it also reached #62 on The Billboard 200, earning critical acclaim and a 2006 Grammy nomination in the process; that year the band embarked on a grueling tour schedule that eventually found them on the Ozzfest second stage.

On their third release overall, "Redeemer", Norma Jean hook up with Korn and Limp Bizkit producer Ross Robinson; the album arrived in shops in September 2006 confirming the ferocity of the band's performances, it quickly rose to #1 on the Top Christian Albums chart and also broke into the top 40 of The Billboard 200 Sales list.

Drummer Chris Raines joined Norma Jean in early 2008 and the new line-up released "The Anti Mother" that summer featuring the single "Robots 3 Humans 0". The album, which hit #29 on The Billboard 200, also featured an array of guest stars including Deftones frontman Chino Moreno, Helmet's Page Hamilton and Cove Reber of Saosin.

July 2010 saw the Georgia heavy rockers deliver their first album for Razor & Tie: "Meridional". Opening track and first single, "Leaderless And Self Enlisted", really serves to show off all of the sounds that the group is bringing together on their fifth studio record, which reached #45 on the U.S. Albums chart.

Norma Jean's sixth album, "Wrongdoers", was released in the summer of 2013 and brought a major change to the band's line-up, by replacing Henry with guitarist Jeff Hickey, Schultz with bassist John Finnegan and Raines with drummer Clayton 'Goose' Holyoak. The disc debuted at #37 on The Billboard 200 and hit #1 on the Top Christian Albums chart.


Norma Jean biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Norma Jean pictures:

  • Norma Jean band lineup 2005 Norma Jean band lineup 2005
    The band line-up 2005
  • Norma Jean band 2008 Norma Jean band 2008
    Norma Jean, the band in 2008