100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Paper Tongues

Paper Tongues bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Paper Tongues photo 2012

Paper Tongues Biography

Paper Tongues was officially born in 2007 on the streets of Charlotte, North Carolina USA. Lead singer Aswan North, helped found the “Inprov Music Experience”, a weekly event where musicians played for the homeless at a main intersection in the middle of the city. Embracing elements of Rock, Funk, Rap and Soul, the band, which comprised North, guitarists Devin Forbes and Joey Signa, synthesizer player Clayton Simon, keyboardist Cody Blackler, bassist Daniel Santell and drummer Jordan Hardee, developed a brand new sound and attracted the attention of Octone Records.

In 2009 Paper Tongues released its first single "Ride To California" which peaked at #22 on The Alternative Songs chart. Their eponymous debut album arrived in March 2010 making a brief Billboard Top 200 chart appearance at #110. Second single, "Trinity", was also a top 30 on the Alternative airplay listing. The band toured extensively for the next two years, opening for Muse, The Dirty Heads, Linkin Park, Flyleaf, Cage The Elephant, The Black Keys, Civil Twilight, My Chemical Romance, Sublime With Rome, Switchfoot and Neon Trees, scoring another Hot Modern Rock top 40 hit with "Get Higher".
Hardee, after being with Paper Tongues for three years, he ended up leaving in the winter of 2010 to help his siblings' band back in their hometown. Shortly after, drummer Luke Anderson, who had played on two of the songs for the 2010 debut album, joined the group as the full-time member in December 2010. Subsequently, both Blackler and Simon left the band in early 2012.

Latest News:

Currently, Paper Tongues is in the studio recording their second album which presumably will include their 2012 single "Amen".


Paper Tongues biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Paper Tongues pictures:

  • Paper Tongues band lineup 2009 Paper Tongues band lineup 2009
    The band line-up 2009

Paper Tongues (2010)

1. Trinity
2. For The People
3. Ride To California
4. Get Higher
5. What If
6. Soul
7. Everybody
8. Strongest Flame
9. Rich And Poor
10. Love Like You

Amen [digital single] (2012)

Amen - single
Paper Tongues discography - an exclusive and detailed creation of 100xr.com
The section contains all of Paper Tongues albums released to date
with original cover art and complete tracklist