100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Passion Pit

Passion Pit bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Passion Pit

Passion Pit photo 2009

Passion Pit Biography

The Electro-Pop outfit Passion Pit is the brainchild of singer + keyboardist & songwriter Michael Angelakos. In 2007 he wrote and recorded the entire "The Chunk Of Change" EP by himself, a 6-track set which was originally put together as a Valentine's Day present to Angelakos girlfriend which then prompted him to give it out to friends and fellow students at Emerson College in Boston, Massachusetts USA.

With the EP official unmixed/mastered pressing in tow, Angelakos and the ever-evolving Passion Pit band play to a sold-out crowd at New York's Bowery Ballroom. Frenchkiss Records eventually took notice and re-issued "The Chunk Of Change" with two bonus tracks in the fall of 2008.

Playing as a five-piece live, Passion Pit soon captivated audiences opening up for Death Cab For Cutie.
The band, which is also composed of Ian Hultquist on keyboards + guitar, Ayad Al Adhamy on synth + samples, Jeff Apruzzese on bass and Nate Donmoyer on drums, had its first proper full-length album, "Manners", in spring 2009. It debuted into the top 10 of the U.S. Top Independent Albums chart and went a bit beyond the top 50 of the all-genre Billboard 200 list while the main single, "The Reeling", peaked at #34 on The Alternative Songs chart.

Passion Pit's second album, "Gossamer", arrived in July 2012 peaking at #4 on The Billboard 200 and the first single, "Take A Walk", became a top 5 smash on Alternative stations.


Passion Pit biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Passion Pit pictures:

  • nopic nopic
    more pics coming soon

Manners (2009)

1. Make Light
2. Little Secrets
3. Moth's Wings
4. The Reeling
5. Eyes As Candles
6. Swimming In The Flood
7. Folds In Your Hands
8. To Kingdom Come
9. Sleepyhead
10. Let Your Love Grow Tall
11. Seaweed Song

Gossamer (2012)

1. Take A Walk
2. I'll Be Alright
3. Carried Away
4. Constant Conversations
5. Mirrored Sea
6. Cry Like A Ghost
7. On My Way
8. Hideaway
9. Two Veils To Hide My Face
10. Love Is Greed
11. It's Not My Fault, I'm Happy
12. Where We Belong
Passion Pit discography - an exclusive and detailed creation of 100xr.com
The section contains all of Passion Pit albums released to date
with original cover art and complete tracklist