100 XR Home Page
Listen Now


Pillar bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Pillar band

Pillar photo 2006
From left to right: Lester Estelle, Rob Beckley, Kalel & Noah Henson

Pillar Biography

This Alternative-Metal band was founded in Hays, Kansas USA, in 1998 by vocalist Rob Beckley and bassist Michael 'Kalel' Wittig. Pillar gained its most stable line-up core when guitarist Noah Henson and drummer Lester Estelle joined the fold. Despite the early stage of their career, these Christian rockers were so diligent in playing shows and setting up tours that they were doing the band full-time even without a record label.

In the spring of 2000, the members of Pillar recorded a self-financed EP which captured the attention of Flicker Records who signed them to release their debut album "Above", which was issued in June 2001.

The foursome relocated to Tulsa, Oklahoma and began recording their next record, "Fireproof". It originally saw the light of day in May 2002; the disc, later picked up by MCA Records for wider distribution, finally crawled up to #6 on the Billboard Magazine's Top Contemporary Christian Albums chart. The band's sophomore release also crossed over to The Billboard 200 reaching #139 and the title-track became their first Mainstream Rock Top 40 single. In addition to headlining the 35-city "Underground Uprising" Tour in 2003, Pillar also shared stages with contemporary acts such as Korn, Evanescence, Sevendust, Chevelle, Mudvayne, Life Of Agony and Powerman 5000.

After the release of 2003's acoustic "Broken Down: The EP", the Oklahoma-based quartet, returned in mid-2004 with their third full-length record, "Where Do We Go From Here"; it peaked at #3 on the Top Contemporary Christian Albums chart and climbed to #74 on The Billboard 200 generating the Active Rock top 30 hit, "Bring Me Down".

"The Reckoning" followed in October 2006 with its single, "Everything ", becoming a minor hit; the album peaked at #70 on The Billboard Top 200 chart and confirmed the band's position at the forefront of modern Christian music scene.

Essential Records released Pillar's next offering, "For The Love Of The Game", in February 2008. It rose to #3 on the Top Christian Albums and barely got a toehold on The Billboard 200 debuting at #71 spawning several singles, most notable was the title-track, but none were particularly successful.

"Confessions" arrived in September 2009, it marks the group's first release with new members, Rich Gilliland on bass and Taylor Carroll on drums.


Pillar biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Pillar pictures:

  • Pillar band lineup 2004 Pillar band lineup 2004
    The band line-up 2004