100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Queens Of The Stone Age

Queens Of The Stone Age bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Queens Of The Stone Age photo 2013
from left: Michael Shuman, Troy Van Leeuwen, Jon Theodore, Joshua Homme and Dean Fertita

Queens Of The Stone Age Biography

Quite possibly the most famous Stoner-Metal band, Queens Of The Stone Age formed in 1997 in Palm Desert, California USA, a couple of years after the breakup of seminal Stoner-Rock band Kyuss and initially comprised singer + guitarist Josh Homme, bassist Nick Oliveri and drummer Alfredo Hernandez.

Queens Of The Stone Age made its debut in September 1998 with the self-titled album, released by Loosegroove Records; it contained the single "If Only" which was aired on American modern-Rock radio stations drawing the attention of Interscope Records.

Two years later, the label issued QOTSA's second album, "Rated R"; during the recording sessions of "R" Hernandez left and Screaming Trees' Barrett Martin replaced him on drums; the group's second effort featured guest vocalists Mark Lanegan, also of Screaming Trees and Rob Halford of Judas Priest. The album entered the top 20 of the Billboard Magazine's Heatseekers chart and the single "The Lost Art Of Keeping A Secret", reached #21 on The Mainstream Rock chart.

Queens Of The Stone Age's breakthrough album, "Songs For The Deaf", arrived in the summer of 2002, Lanegan continued the collaboration with the group that also invited A Perfect Circle guitarist Troy Van Leeuwen and Foo Fighters' Dave Grohl to play drums; the record reached #17 on The Billboard Top 200 chart, highlighted by the #1 Modern Rock smash hit "No One Knows"; the second single, "Go With The Flow", grabbed a #7 spot on the same chart.

Homme, who split from his long-time collaborator Nick Oliveri, once again refounded the group and Queens Of The Stone Age returned in spring of 2005 with a line-up of Homme, Lanegan, Van Leeuwan, Alain Johannes on bass and Joey Castillo on drums, releasing "Lullabies To Paralyze". The record shot to #5 on both The Billboard 200 and Top Canadian Albums charts. It included another smash, "Little Sister", which peaked at #2 on The Modern Rock Tracks as well as two more alt-Rock radio top 40 hits: " In My Head" and "Burn The Witch".

June 2007 saw the band, that featured two new members bassist Michael Shuman and keyboardist Dean Fertita, release "Era Vulgaris", Latin for “common era”, another powerful album stacked with colossal guitar chords and the most volatile of heavy-Rock melodies. The set included "Sick, Sick, Sick", where The Strokes' Julian Casablancas spews his vocals beneath a wall of multi-guitar catcalls, this single peaked at #23 on The Hot Modern Rock chart while the album hit #14 on The Billboard 200. The second single, "3's And 7's", also climbed into the top 30 of The Hot Modern Rock list and was followed by the minor hit "Make It Wit Chu".

"...Like Clockwork", the first Queens Of The Stone Age album in five years was released in June 2013 on Matador Records. During the recording sessions Homme was joined by Dave Grohl, Mark Lanegan, Elton John, Trent Reznor and former QOTSA bassist Nick Oliveri. Homme also reshaped the live line-up with veteran Van Leeuwen, Shuman and Fertita and new drummer Jon Theodore formerly of The Mars Volta and One Day As A Lion. "...Like Clockwork", which was preceded by the Alternative Songs top 20 single "My God Is The Sun", became the outfit's first album which topped The Billboard 200.


Queens Of The Stone Age biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Queens Of The Stone Age pictures:

  • Nick Oliveri and Josh Homme Nick Oliveri and Josh Homme
    Nick Oliveri and Josh Homme (2002)
  • Queens Of The Stone Age band lineup 2005 Queens Of The Stone Age band lineup 2005
    QOTSA in 2005, LtoR: Troy Van Leeuwen, Josh Homme and Joey Castillo
  • Queens Of The Stone Age lineup 2007 Queens Of The Stone Age lineup 2007
    Queens Of The Stone Age line-up 2007