100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

The Rentals

The Rentals bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Matt Sharp 2009

The Rentals photo 2009
(Matt Sharp)

The Rentals Biography

The Pop-Rock outfit The Rentals was the side project of singer + songwriter Matt Sharp, former bassist for Weezer, he started his own band in 1995 in Los Angeles, California USA, with vocalist Cherielynn Westrich, guitarist Rod Cervera, violinist Petra Haden, keyboardist Jim Richards and drummer Patrick Wilson.

In October of the same year, the group released "Return Of The Rentals", which incorporated the early '80s New Wave sounds with plenty of Moog synthesizer; the 10-song set entered the top 20 of the Billboard Magazine's Heatseekers Albums chart highlighted by the single "Friends Of P.", it reached #7 on The Modern Rock chart and cracked The Billboard Hot 100 at #82. The band supported the release with a string of dates opening for Garbage and Blur.

After the second Weezer full-length disc, in February 1998 Sharp announced that he was leaving the band in order to work full time on his own creation; The Rentals team this season include Cervera, Richards and new drummer Kevin March with guest appearances by Damon Alborn from Blur, Tim Wheeler from Ash and once again, Petra Haden. The second album, "Seven More Minutes", was finally released in the spring of 1999 but failed to produce any hits and only reached the #23 position on the Billboard Top Heatseekers chart.

2009 finds The Rentals at their slimmest, with Matt Sharp, Jamie Black on vocals, Lauren Chipman on viola + vocals and Dan Joeright on drums with Pixies alum Joey Santiago guesting on "Song Of Remembering", the opening track of the band's multimedia project, "Songs About Time".


The Rentals biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

The Rentals pictures:

  • The Rentals band lineup mid 90s The Rentals band lineup mid 90s
    The band line-up mid-'90s
  • The Rentals' Matt Sharp 2003 The Rentals' Matt Sharp 2003
    Matt Sharp 2003

Return Of The Rentals (1995)

Return Of The Rentals
1. The Love I'm Searching For
2. Waiting
3. Friends Of P.
4. Move On
5. Please Let That Be You
6. My Summer Girl
7. Brilliant Boy
8. Naive
9. These Days
10. Sweetness And Tenderness

Seven More Minutes (1999)

Seven More Minutes
1. Getting By
2. Hello, Hello
3. She Says It's Alright
4. The Cruise
5. Barcelona
6. Say Goodbye Forever
7. Overlee
8. Big Daddy C.
9. Keep Sleeping
10. The Man With Two Brains
11. Must Be Wrong
12. Insomnia
13. It's Alright [reprise]
14. My Head Is In The Sun
15. Jumping Around

Songs About Time (2009)

Songs About Time
tracklisting for the digital version:

1. A Rose Is A Rose
2. Traces Of Our Tears
3. The Future
4. No Desire #2
5. Irrational Things
6. It's Time To Come Home
7. Song Of Remembering
8. Seven Years
9. A Thousand Seasons Past
10. All I Have
11. Girls Of The Metro
12. Late Night Confessions
The Rentals discography - an exclusive and detailed creation of 100xr.com
The section contains all of The Rentals albums released to date
with original cover art and complete tracklist