100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

The Shins

The Shins bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

The Shins

The Shins photo 2012

The Shins Biography

The Indie-Rock Pop-Rock quartet The Shins formed during the second half of the '90s in Albuquerque, New Mexico USA; originally comprised singer + guitarist James Mercer, guitarist Martin Crandall, bassist James Langford and drummer Jesse Sandoval, they made their recording debut in 1998 with an independent 7-inch titled "Nature Bears A Vacuum".

Another single followed in 2000 and eventually they signed a deal with Sub Pop Records.
Their debut full-length disc, "Oh, Inverted World", was issued a year later.
Before the group released their second album, Langford was replaced by bass player David Hernandez; "Chutes Too Narrow" came out in October 2003 and reached the #86 position on The Billboard 200 Albums chart; it contained the minor hit single "So Says I".

The highly anticipated third album from The Shins, "Wincing The Night Away", which was recorded in the summer of 2006, arrived in January 2007; the 12-track set peaked at #2 on The Billboard 200 and included the Hot Modern Rock top 20 hit "Phantom Limb" plus a minor hit single titled "Australia".

In 2010 Mercer scored a top 10 hit album with Broken Bells, a collaboration between The Shins' frontman and producer Danger Mouse.

2012's "Port Of Morrow", The Shins' first full-length disc since 2007's Grammy-nominated "Wincing The Night Away", features a totally revamped line-up consisting of only one original member, James Mercer and includes industry-established musicians such as singer + songwriter Richard Swift, singer + songwriter & multi-instrumentalist Jessica Dobson, bass guitarist Yuuki Matthews and Modest Mouse drummer Joe Plummer. "Simple Song", the first single off the album, peaked at #10 on The Alternative Songs chart and "Port Of Morrow" ascended into the top 3 of The Billboard Top 200 Albums list.


The Shins biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

The Shins pictures:

  • The Shins band lineup 2001 The Shins band lineup 2001
    The band line-up 2001
  • The Shins 2003 The Shins 2003
    The Shins 2003

Oh, Inverted World (2001)

Oh, Inverted World
1. Caring Is Creepy
2. One By One All Day
3. Weird Divide
4. Know Your Onion!
5. Girl Inform Me
6. New Slang
7. The Celibate Life
8. Girl On The Wing
9. Your Algebra
10. Pressed In A Book
11. The Past And Pending

Chutes Too Narrow (2003)

Chutes Too Narrow
1. Kissing The Lipless
2. Mine's Not A High Horse
3. So Says I
4. Young Pilgrims
5. Saint Simon
6. Fighting In A Sack
7. Pink Bullets
8. Turn A Square
9. Gone For Good
10. Those To Come

Wincing The Night Away (2007)

Wincing The Night Away
1. Sleeping Lessons
2. Australia
3. Pam Berry
4. Phantom Limb
5. Sea Legs
6. Red Rabbits
7. Turn On Me
8. Black Wave
9. Spilt Needles
10. Girl Sailor
11. A Comet Appears

Port Of Morrow (2012)

Port Of Morrow
1. The Rifle's Spiral
2. Simple Song
3. It's Only Life
4. Bait And Switch
5. September
6. No Way Down
7. For A Fool
8. Fall Of '82
9. 40 Mark Strasse
10. Port Of Morrow
The Shins discography - an exclusive and detailed creation of 100xr.com
The section contains all of The Shins albums released to date
with original cover art and complete tracklist