100 XR Home Page
Listen Now


Sparklehorse bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Sparklehorse's Mark Linkous

Sparklehorse photo: Mark Linkous

Sparklehorse Biography

This Indie Alternative-Rock band is essentially a vehicle for singer+guitarist & songwriter Mark Linkous, a tall dark man who first came to make music under the name Sparklehorse when Cracker's David Lowery left his eight-track recorder at Linkous' Bremo Bluff, Virginia USA, home while he went on tour.

"Vivadixiesubmarinetransmissionplot", the Sparklehorse's debut full-length album, was issued on Capitol Records in August 1995, the record yielded a well-received single, "Someday I Will Treat You Good", which peaked at #35 on The Modern Rock chart.
Tragically in early 1996, after a London gig opening for Radiohead, Linkous took a few too many Valiums and collapsed in his hotel bathroom, trapping his legs beneath his body; he was found twelve hours later, by which time he had suffered a heart attack and caused bad damage to his leg muscles, despite fears that he would never recover, Linkous has since made steady progress, performing from a wheelchair with his band.
After a few years break from recording, Sparklehorse returned with its sophomore LP, "Good Morning Spider"; the album was released in February 1999 to good reviews, but it also failed to dent the charts and didn't produce any marketable singles.
The next album, "It's A Wonderful Life", was once again primarily the creation of Mark Linkous, who wrote, sang, played guitar, samplers and drum machines; this time out, longtime drummer Scott Minor contributed to the album as did The Cardigans' Nina Persson and PJ Harvey; the disc eventually reached #34 on the Billboard Top Heatseekers chart upon its July 2001 release.

Sparklehorse's latest CD, "Dreamt For Light Years In The Belly Of A Mountain", was recorded alone by Mark Linkous in his Static King Studios in North Carolina, guests on the album include Danger Mouse and drummer Steven Drozd from The Flaming Lips; the 12-track set, which arrived in stores in September 2006, features the single "Ghost In The Sky".

On March 6, 2010, the troubled and talented musician Mark Linkous committed suicide; his manager, Shelby Meade, explained that he shot himself in the heart in an alley near a friend's home in Knoxville. He was 47.


Sparklehorse biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Sparklehorse pictures:

  • Sparklehorse band lineup 2001 Sparklehorse band lineup 2001
    The band line-up 2001

Vivadixiesubmarinetransmissionplot (1995)

1. Homecoming Queen
2. Weird Sisters
3. 850 Double Pumper Holley
4. Rainmaker
5. Spirit Ditch
6. Tears On Fresh Fruit
7. Saturday
8. Cow
9. Little Bastard Choo Choo
10. Hammering The Cramps
11. Most Beautiful Widow In Town
12. Heart Of Darkness
13. Ballad Of A Cold Lost Marble
14. Someday I Will Treat You Good
15. Sad And Beautiful World
16. Gasoline Horseys

Good Morning Spider (1999)

Good Morning Spider
1. Pig
2. Painbirds
3. Saint Mary
4. Good Morning Spider
5. Sick Of Goodbyes
6. Box Of Stars (Part One)
7. Sunshine
8. Chaos Of The Galaxy / Happy Man
9. Hey, Joe
10. Come On In
11. Maria's Little Elbows
12. Cruel Sun
13. All Night Home
14. Ghost Of His Smile
15. Hundreds Of Sparrows
16. Box Of Stars (Part Two)
17. Junebug

It's A Wonderful Life (2001)

It's A Wonderful Life
1. It's A Wonderful Life
2. Gold Day
3. Piano Fire
4. Sea Of Teeth
5. Apple Bed
6. King Of Nails
7. Eyepennies
8. Dog Door
9. More Yellow Birds
10. Little Fat Baby
11. Devil's New
12. Comfort Me
13. Babies On The Sun

Dreamt For Light Years In The Belly Of A Mountain (2006)

Dreamt For Light Years In The Belly Of A Mountain
1. Don't Take My Sunshine Away
2. Getting It Wrong
3. Shade And Honey
4. See The Light
5. Return To Me
6. Some Sweet Day
7. Ghost In The Sky
8. Mountains
9. Morning Hollow
10. It's Not So Hard
11. Knives Of Summertime
12. Dreamt For Light Years In The Belly Of A Mountain
Sparklehorse discography - an exclusive and detailed creation of 100xr.com
The section contains all of Sparklehorse albums released to date
with original cover art and complete tracklist