100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Sum 41

Sum 41 bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Sum 41

Sum 41 photo 2007

Sum 41 Biography

Sum 41 are a modern Punk-Rock quartet founded in Ajax, Ontario CANADA, in 1997 by teenagers singer+guitarist Deryck Whibley, lead guitarist Dave Baksh, bassist Cone McCaslin and drummer Steve Jocz.

Soon after forming, the band spent two years performing live in the local scene; in 1999, Sum 41 was signed to an independent label in their homeland and inked a deal with Island Records in the United States.
In the summer of 2000, the group released its debut full-length disc, "Half Hour Of Power", which included the Modern Rock top 40 track "Makes No Difference" and supported the album with a co-headlining tour with Blink-182, The Offspring and Social Distortion.
The next year saw the release of their breakthrough album, "All Killer No Filler"; it pierced the top 10 of both the Canadian and British Albums chart and reached the #13 slot on The Billboard Top 200 list, with almost 3 million copies sold. The first single off of the CD, "Fat Lip", smashed at #1 on The Modern Rock chart and was followed by "In Too Deep", which climbed into the top 10 and the final single, "Motivation", peaked at #24 on the same chart; "Fat Lip" also hit #18 on the U.K. Singles Top 40 chart and reached the #66 position on the U.S Billboard Hot 100.
Sum 41 then appeared on the soundtrack to the movie "Spider-Man" with the single "What We're All About" which debuted at #32 on the U.K. Pop Top 40 list.
The next album, "Does This Look Infected?", arrived in fall 2002; it became an instant smash hit, cracking the top 10 of the Canadian chart and entered the top 40 Stateside spawning two singles: "Still Waiting" peaked at #7 on Billboard's Modern Rock chart; "The Hell Song" reached the #38 position on the U.K. Singles Top 40 and hit #13 on the U.S. Modern Rock Tracks charts.
Sum 41 returned nearly two years later with "Chuck", the record rose to #2 on the Top Canadian Albums and climbed into the top 10 of The Billboard 200, their best chart-placing to date; the first single, "We're All To Blame", debuted at #10 on The Modern Rock chart, "Pieces" followed its predecessor into top 20 and the third single, "Some Say", received moderate airplay on alt-Rock stations.
In spring 2006 guitarist Dave Baksh quit the group; the split was put down to “creative differences” and he went on to focus on his new Metal band.

In 2007, now as a three-piece band, Sum 41 recorded "Underclass Hero", which was released in July and shot to #1 in their native Canada; the title-track was the first single to be lifted from their new CD.


Sum 41 biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Sum 41 pictures:

  • Sum 41 band 2001 Sum 41 band 2001
    Group shot 2000
  • Sum 41  band 2004 Sum 41 band 2004
    Sum 41 2004