100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

TV On The Radio

TV On The Radio bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

TV On The Radio band

TV On The Radio band photo 2011

TV On The Radio Biography

TV On The Radio is a highly original group from Brooklyn, New York USA, whose music encompasses elements of Blues, free-Jazz, post-Punk and contemporary Electro-Rock. The project was started in 2000 by vocalist + sound manipulator Tunde Adebimpe and keyboardist + guitarist & bassist David Andrew Sitek.

The duo firstly self-released an 18-track demo-CD called "OK Calculator" and in 2003 followed it up with a 5-song EP titled "Young Liars" on Touch & Go Records, which marks the recording debut of vocalist + bassist Kyp Malone.

March 2004 saw the release of TV On The Radio's first full-length album, "Desperate Youth, Blood Thirsty Babes"; the group supported the release by touring with such pronounced act as The Faint. The album eventually peaked at #11 on the Top Independent chart.

Before the sessions for the next album, touring members bassist Gerard Smith and drummer + percussionist Jaleel Bunton, were permanently added to the line-up. "Return To Cookie Mountain", TVOTR's sophomore album and first for Interscope, arrived in September 2006 reaching the #41 position on The Billboard 200; it included the single "Wolf Like Me" which held the #37 spot on The Hot Modern Rock chart in the spring of 2007.

In September 2008 the Brooklyn quintet released "Dear Science"; this record took them to a new level of critical acclaim as well as commercial success, it debuted at #12 on The Billboard Top 200 Albums chart.

TV On The Radio issued its fourth album, "Nine Types Of Light", in April 2011. The disc, which contained the Alternative radio top 40 hit "Will Do", peaked at #12 on The Billboard 200.
That same month, the group announced on their website the death of bassist Gerard Smith. On April 20, 2011, Smith succumbed to lung cancer, he was only 36 years old.


TV On The Radio biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

TV On The Radio pictures:

  • TV On The Radio band 2004 TV On The Radio band 2004
    The band line-up 2004 [L>R] David Andrew Sitek, Tunde Adebimpe and Kyp Malone