100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Taking Back Sunday

Taking Back Sunday bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Taking Back Sunday

Taking Back Sunday band photo 2014

Taking Back Sunday Biography

This Amityville, New York USA-based Punk-Pop five-piece band first came together in 1999, when guitarist Eddie Reyes decided to start a band; he recruited second guitarist John Nolan, bassist Shaun Cooper and drummer Mark O'Connell; the line-up was later completed with the addition vocalist Adam Lazzara.

The quintet recorded a few demos and began to play live shows, eventually, they signed with Victory Records who released in March of 2002 their debut full-length album, "Tell All Your Friends"; the record broke into the top 10 of the Billboard Magazine's Independent chart; the group crisscrossed the United States getting dates and shows with more national acts, including Boxcar Racer, The Used and Jimmy Eat World.

During 2003, both Nolan and Cooper left the band and went on to form Straylight Run, they were replaced by guitarist Fred Mascherino and bass player Matt Rubano; in the middle of the summer of the next year the revamped Taking Back Sunday released their breakthrough LP, "Where You Want To Be", the album crashed into the top 3 of The Billboard Top 200 chart spawning "A Decade Under The Influence" which hit #16 on The Modern Rock Tracks chart.

On April 25, 2006 Taking Back Sunday released its third album "Louder Now" through Warner Bros. Records; the 11-song set debuted at #2 in U.S. and at #5 in Canada led by the first single "MakeDamnSure", which shot to #8 on The Hot Modern Rock chart; the follow-up single, "Liar (It Takes One To Know One)", reached the #21 position on the same chart.

The group issued their next CD, "New Again", in June 2009. The disc, which was the band's first release since guitarist Matt Fazzi replaced Fred Mascherino, hit #7 on The Billboard 200 and #16 on the Top Canadian Albums charts while the first single, "Sink Into Me", peaked at #10 on the U.S. Hot Modern Rock Tracks.

Two years later Taking Back Sunday churned out a self-titled album that featured the same line-up as the band's gold-selling 2002 debut "Tell All Your Friends": Lazzara, Reyes, Nolan, Cooper and O'Connell. It reached #17 The Billboard 200 list but the main single, "Faith (When I Let You Down)", failed to enter any chart.

Latest News:

Taking Back Sunday have released their single and video for "Stood A Chance" off their sixth studio album, "Happiness Is"; this is their first effort since joining Hopeless Records and is set to be released on March 18.


Taking Back Sunday biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Taking Back Sunday pictures:

  • Taking Back Sunday band 2004 Taking Back Sunday band 2004
    Group shot 2004
  • Taking Back Sunday band 2006 Taking Back Sunday band 2006
    Taking Back Sunday 2006