100 XR Home Page
Listen Now


Thursday bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Thursday band

Thursday band photo 2006

Thursday Biography

The post-Hardcore Alternative-Rock band Thursday first formed in 1997 in New Brunswick, New Jersey USA, by singer Geoff Rickly, guitarists Tom Keeley and Bill Henderson, bassist Tim Payne and drummer Tucker Rule.

It wasn't until 2000 that the quintet made their album debut, releasing "Waiting" through New York's Eyeball Record label.

Following the departure of former guitarist Bill Henderson, Thursday hired Frank Giokas and signed a new deal with the powerhouse indie Victory Records who released "Full Collapse" in April 2001; the group's sophomore CD entered the top 10 of the Billboard's Independent Albums chart and also reached the #178 position on The Billboard 200 Sales chart helped on its way by the alt-Rock radio single "Understanding In A Car Crash".

"Five Stories Falling", a 5-song live EP followed a year later; then, after another line-up change with Steve Pedulla replacing Giokas, the band was picked-up by Island Records and in September 2003 the New Jersey collective released their major-label debut, "War All The Time", which peaked at #7 on The Billboard Top 200 Albums chart and its main single, "Signals Over The Air", hit the top 30 of The Modern Rock chart. The title-track was the second single off the disc and a minor hit at Alternative Rock radio.

In May 2006 the band released its fourth album, "A City By The Light Divided" and the accompanying single "Counting 5 4 3 2 1". The CD, which crested at #20 on The Billboard Top 200 chart, contained another single/video: "At This Velocity".

Thursday returned to their former label, Victory Records, which issued a retrospective CD/DVD set in October 2007. The release, "Kill The House Lights", consists of a full-length feature DVD and a full-length album. The CD contais three, brand new and unreleased songs along with a collection of live tracks and b-sides, the DVD tells Thursday's 10 year career story from the beginning to the present. The set made a mid-chart appearance peaking at #113 on The Billboard 200 and provided the single "Ladies And Gentlemen: My Brother, The Failure".

The post-Hardcore pioneers signed with Epitaph Records in September 2008 and four months later put out their fifth album of all-new-material, "Common Existence", in conjunction with the single "Resuscitation Of A Dead Man"; the disc reached the #56 spot on The Billboard Top 200 Albums chart.

On their latest studio effort, "No Devolución", Thursday explores elements of post-Rock, indie, art and experimental styles, blending it all with their post-Hardcore roots. The album, which was prefaced by the single "Past And Future Ruins", was issued in April 2011.


Thursday biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Thursday pictures:

  • Thursday band 2002 Thursday band 2002
    [L-R] Steve Pedulla, Geoff Rickly, Tucker Rule, Tim Payne and Tom Keeley (2002)