100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Toad The Wet Sprocket

Toad The Wet Sprocket bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Toad The Wet Sprocket photo 2013
left to right: Randy Guss, Glen Phillips, Todd Nichols and Dean Dinning

Toad The Wet Sprocket Biography

When Eric Idle created the fictional band “Toad The Wet Sprocket” for a surreal BBC comedy in 1975, he never dreamed that anyone would actually use such a silly name. Fast forward to 1986, when four teens from Santa Barbara, California USA, adopted the monicker as a joke for their first gig.
The joke became permanent and Toad The Wet Sprocket has been touring ever since with all four original members: lead singer Glen Phillips, guitarist Todd Nichols, bassist Dean Dinning and drummer Randy Guss. From 1989 to 1998, the Alternative-Rock quartet made five studio albums which combined sold over four million copies.

The group released their first self-financed album, "Bread And Circus" in 1988, the following year the foursome signed for Columbia Records that re-released the album, it included the single "One Little Girl" which entered the top 30 of The Modern Rock chart.

In January 1990 followed the band's sophomore record, "Pale", which generated another Modern Rock top 30 hit: "Come Back Down".

Toad The Wet Sprocket's third effort, "Fear", was issued in August 1991; it contained their most popular track, "All I Want", which peaked at #15 on The Billboard Hot 100 and pushed the album into The Billboard 200 chart with a peak of #49; also the second single, "Walk On The Ocean", hit the top 20 of the Hot 100 chart and both these singles got into the Billboard's Mainstream Rock chart at #22 and #27, respectively. Two more minor hit singles were taken from "Fear": the acoustic ballad "I Will Not Take These Things For Granted" and "Hold Her Down".

The Toad's fourth studio set, "Dulcinea", which featured the band's first Modern Rock #1 single "Fall Down" plus the top 10 hit "Something's Always Wrong", peaked at #34 on The Billboard 200 Albums chart.

In October 1995 the band released a rarities and B-sides collection titled "In Light Syrup", which hit #37 on The Billboard 200, with only one single, "Good Intentions", charting at #19 on The Billboard's Mainstream Rock chart and #20 on The Modern Rock Tracks.

1997's "Coil" became their best chart-placing to date peaking at #19 on The Billboard Top 200 Albums list while the main single, "Come Down", crawled up to #13 on The Modern Rock chart.

After breaking up in 1998, TTWS would get together sporadically to play shows on a casual basis, but their hard core fans never gave up hope for a new album. After successful tours in 2006-2010, the band decided to update their classic catalog and created a new greatest hits album, "All You Want", which came out in 2011.

Latest News:

Toad The Wet Sprocket will release their first studio album in 16 years and sixth overall, with "New Constellation", set to arrive September 2013.


Toad The Wet Sprocket biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Toad The Wet Sprocket pictures:

  • Toad The Wet Sprocket band 1995 Toad The Wet Sprocket 1995
    TTWS photoshoot 1995