100 XR Home Page
Listen Now


Trapt bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Trapt band

Trapt band photo 2010

Trapt Biography

This Alternative-Rock band got its start in Los Gatos, California USA, in 1997 when singer + guitarist Chris Brown met bass player Peter Charell at school, soon after they hooked up with guitarist Simon Ormandy.

Brown and Charell wrote songs and assembled a band to play their own material at The Cactus Club, sharing bills with Papa Roach and Dredg. At that time Trapt recorded a do-it-yourself CD which was followed by a second independent LP, "Amalgamation", in 1999. They recorded new material every chance they got including a third indie-CD titled "Glimpse".
In the summer of 2001 the band's long-time drummer parted ways with the group; Aaron Montgomery joined Trapt to play drums before the quartet put together a showcase on September 11 that same year, shortly thereafter Warner Bros. offered the band a recording deal.

During the winter of 2002, Trapt spent 10 weeks in Vancouver, recording its self-titled major label debut album; the first single, "Headstrong", became a surprise hit climbing to the top spot on both The Mainstream and The Modern Rock charts, thus helping the album to debut at #1 on Billboard's Top Heatseekers list. The next year the band played over 300 shows, "Headstrong" cracked the top 20 of The Billboard Hot 100, "Still Frame" peaked at #1 on the Active Rock chart and at #3 on The Modern Rock Tracks; the third single, "Echo", ascended into the top 10 of The Modern Rock chart and "Trapt" eventually rose to #42 on The Billboard Top 200 Albums Sales chart.

Trapt's second album, "Someone In Control", hit record store shelves in September 2005, it rocketed to #14 on the U.S. Top 200 while the first single, "Stand Up", quickly bulleted into the top 3 of The Mainstream Rock chart and reached the #17 position on The Modern Rock Tracks. The follow-up single, "Waiting", was another Active Rock top 20 hit for the band and "Disconnected" topped out at #24 on The Hot Mainstream Rock Tracks.
In September 2007, the Northern California-reared quartet released "Trapt Live!"; their debut for Eleven Seven Music, included nine live songs and two unreleased studio songs "Stay Alive" and "Everything To Lose".

2008 saw a line-up change for Trapt when lead guitarist Simon Ormandy left the band and Robb Torres took his place. Their third studio album, "Only Through The Pain", arrived in August on Eleven Seven. It debuted inside the top 20 of The Billboard 200 and the lead single, "Who's Going Home With You Tonight?", hit #12 on The Hot Mainstream Rock chart. The second single, "Contagious", was also an Active Rock top 20 hit.

Released in October 2010, "No Apologies" marked a return to their heavy-Rock sound. The 11-track set reached #25 on The Billboard 200 producing a Rock Songs top 40 hit with the first single, "Sound Off". The second single, "End Of My Rope", failed to dent any chart.

Trapt's next single, "Bring It", was initially released during 2011, but cracked the Active Rock chart in 2012, peaking at #19. The track was finally featured on the band's next album, "Reborn", which came out in early 2013 and reached #44 on The Billboard 200. it contained another Active Rock top 40 hit, "Love Hate Relationship" and the minor hit "Living In The Eye Of The Storm".


Trapt biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Trapt pictures:

  • Trapt band lineup 2002 Trapt band lineup 2002
    The band line-up 2002
  • Trapt band 2005 Trapt band 2005
    Trapt "Someone In Control" era