100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Vertical Horizon

Vertical Horizon bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Vertical Horizon

Vertical Horizon photo 2003
from left: Matt Scannell, Keith Kane, Ed Toth and Sean Hurley

Vertical Horizon Biography

This Alternative-Rock outfit was formed in 1991 as an acoustic duo at a Georgetown undergrad party when Matt Scannell and Keith Kane began playing music together; the two singers + guitarists continued performing around Washington, DC USA, playing at bars and coffeehouses, building up a strong following.

Their first, self-financed production was "There And Back Again", an album which was released in 1992; the pair toured extensively throughout the U.S. sharing the stage with acts like Better Than Ezra, Nine Days, Huey Lewis & The News and Del Amitri.

"Running On Ice", which arrived in April of 1995, showed an expanded sound with the addition of a rhythm section consisted of bassist Ryan Fisher and Dave Matthews Band's drummer Carter Beauford.
Over the course of the next four years, Scannell and Kane found a new drummer in Ed Toth, released 1997's "Live Stages", recruited bass player Sean Hurley and eventually signed a major record deal with RCA Records.

In June 1999 Vertical Horizon released its breakthrough album, "Everything You Want"; it peaked at #40 on The Billboard Top 200 chart, while the first single, "We Are", reached the #21 position on The Modern Rock chart. The title-track made an explosive debut at #1 on The Billboard Hot 100 and hit the top 5 of The Modern Rock Tracks; "You're A God", also entered The Billboard Hot 100 reaching the #23 place and peaked at #15 on The Modern Rock chart; the final single, "Best I Ever Had (Grey Sky Morning)", achieved massive success on triple-A radio stations and helped push the album to double-platinum level.

After three weeks of pre-production, stretched over a three-month period to keep the feel fresh, the band spent no more than two months tracking at Henson Studios in Los Angeles and eventually issued their fourth studio record, "Go", in September 2003; it reached the #61 slot on The Billboard Top 200 Albums chart and produced three Billboard Adult Top 40 singles: "I'm Still Here", "Forever" and "When You Cry".
Ed Toth exited in July 2005, the band utilised temporary drummers Craig McIntyre during 2005 and Blair Sinta in 2006. In 2009 Ron LaVella joined as drummer.

Vertical Horizon first album in nearly six years, "Burning The Days", was released in August 2009. Legendary Rush drummer Neil Peart contributed the lyrics to the song "Even Now" and played drums on three tracks, including the first single, "Save Me From Myself".


Vertical Horizon biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Vertical Horizon pictures:

  • Vertical Horizon band lineup late 90s Vertical Horizon band lineup late 90s
    The band line-up 1999