100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

The Walkmen

The Walkmen bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

The Walkmen band

The Walkmen band photo 2008

The Walkmen Biography

This Alternative-Rock group was formed in the summer of 2000 in New York City, New York USA, by vocalist + guitarist Hamilton Leithauser, guitarist Paul Maroon, organist Walter Martin, bassist Peter Bauer and drummer Matt Barrick; the band members came together after the break up of unsuccessful previous outfits that experimented with Garage, Punk and Noise-Rock.

In June 2001, The Walkmen released a 4-track self-titled EP and began performing live in the New York City area.
The quintet coalesced around the studio and released its first full-length CD, "Everyone Who Pretended To Like Me Is Gone", in March 2002.

They returned two years later with "Bows + Arrows", debuting at #8 on Billboard's Top Heatseekers chart and at #9 on the Top Independent Albums tally; the 11-song set included one single: "The Rat".

The band issued its third full-length, "A Hundred Miles Off", in May 2006 on Record Collection; the opening track, "Louisiana", was also the first single off the CD which peaked at #8 on the Top Independent Albums list; the disc finally ascended The Billboard Top 200 Sales chart and landed at #168.

August 2008 saw The Walkmen unleash "You & Me", this album reached #71 on The Billboard 200 list, led by the single "In The New Year".

Two years later they followed up with "Lisbon" which proved to be their most successful album to date as it got their highest ever chart position, debuting at #27 on The Billboard 200.

In May 2012 The Walkmen released its sixth studio album, "Heaven", via Fat Possum Records; it reached #30 on The Billboard 200.


The Walkmen biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

The Walkmen pictures:

  • The Walkmen band 2004 The Walkmen band 2004
    Group shot 2004