100 XR Home Page
Listen Now


Wavves bio, timeline, discography, pics & more


Wavves photo 2012

Wavves Biography

The noise Pop-Rock outfit Wavves began as one-man band by singer + guitarist Nathan Williams in 2008, in San Diego, California USA.

Wavves' self-titled debut album came out in various formats with different track-listing in the fall of 2008.

Williams subsequently signed with the Mississippi-based indie label Fat Possum who released the nearly-eponymous outfit's second album, "Wavvves", in March 2009.

Unlike Wavves' previously released material, recorded in an haphazard bursts on Williams' laptop, the third album, "King Of The Beach", was toiled over for three months, with the help of bassist Stephen Pope and drummer Billy Hayes. Released in August 2010, the disc made a one-week appearance on the Top Independent Albums chart. Before the year's end, Hayes left the group, drummer Jacob Cooper was filling in for him on the rest of their tour in support of the album.

In March 2013 Wavves released "Afraid Of Heights", their fourth album and first on the Mom + Pop and Warner Bros. labels. Now a duo consisting of Williams and Pope, they sound bigger, brasher and shockingly more professional than ever on this record which debuted at #81 on The Billboard 200 and the main single, "Demon To Lean On", climbed into the top 40 of The Alternative Songs chart.


Wavves biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Wavves pictures:

  • Wavves band 2010 Wavves band 2010
    The band line-up 2010. (L-R) Billy Hayes, Nathan Williams and Stephen Pope