100 XR Home Page
Listen Now


Wilco bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Wilco band

Wilco band 2008

Wilco Biography

This Chicago, Illinois USA-based Alternative-Rock Country-Rock band was formed in 1994 following the implosion of the fairly well respected alt-Country band Uncle Tupelo, which broke up right around the time they released their fourth album.
Singer + songwriter Jeff Tweedy then decided to start a new band with fellow Tupelo members, bassist John Stirratt, mandolin + banjo player Max Johnston and drummer Ken Coomer, while his Uncle Tupelo bandmate Jay Farrar went on to form Son Volt.

Wilco, with the newly recruited guitarist Jay Bennett, released in spring 1995 its first album, "A.M."; the record wasn't a great departure from the Tupelo's alt-Country style, for instance the first single, "Box Full Of Letters", doesn't deviate from the standard mid-tempo Country-Rock number.

The following year the quintet issued a double-CD called "Being There"; the double-CD set, which showed the new direction of the band, reched the #73 position on The Billboard Top 200 Albums chart spawning the single "Outtasite (Outta Mind)", it peaked at #22 on The Mainstream Rock Tracks and crossed over into the Modern Rock Tracks Top 40 chart.

March 1999 saw the release of "Summerteeth", this was the first album after the departure of Johnston, who was replaced by guitarist Bob Egan, the disc eventually replicated the chart status of its predecessor.

In the beginning of 2001, some major line-up changes took place, former drummer Ken Coomer and guitarist Jay Bennett both left the fold. Coomer was replaced by Glenn Kotche and multi-instrumentalist Leroy Bach joined Wilco who released its fourth studio effort, "Yankee Hotel Foxtrot" in April of 2002 on Nonesuch Records; nevertheless, this CD became their biggest album, selling over half a million copies and peaking at #13 on The Billboard Top 200 chart; it included the sprawling, nonsensical "I Am Trying To Break Your Heart" and the alt-Rock radio minor hit "Heavy Metal Drummer".

Keyboardist Mikael Jorgensen joined the group and Bach amicably left during the sessions for the follow-up album to "Yankee Hotel Foxtrot"; subsequently the Chicago-area band announced the addition of two new members to the roster: multi-instrumentalist Pat Sansone and guitarist Nels Cline. Jeff Tweedy and company rededicated themselves to the art of songwriting and the result was gems like "Handshake Drugs" and "Theologians"; their fifth album, "A Ghost Is Born", was released in June 2004, it peaked at #8 on The Billboard 200 Albums chart and earned them their first Grammy for Best Alternative Music Album.

Wilco's next album, "Sky Blue Sky", released in May 2007, was prefaced by the radio-single track "What Light" and hit #4 on The Billboard 200, their best chart-placing to date.
Exactly one year later the band contributed a brand new song, "Glad It's Over", to the "Heroes" original soundtrack.

June 2009 saw the release of the band's seventh studio record. The disc, entitled "Wilco (The Album)", features 11 new tracks including "You Never Know".


Wilco biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Wilco pictures:

  • Wilco band 2005 Wilco band 2005
    Group shot 2005