100 XR Home Page
Listen Now

Young The Giant

Young The Giant bio, timeline, discography, pics & more

Young The Giant band

Young The Giant band 2013

Young The Giant Biography

Comprised of vocalist Sameer Gadhia, guitarists Jacob Tilley and Eric Cannata, bassist Payam Doostzadeh and drummer Francois Comtois, the Alternative-Rock combo Young The Giant present a diverse set of musical ideas, one that's as varied as their ethnic backgrounds, Indian, Persian, British and French-Canadian among them. All five members of the band have been playing music together since high school; although they developed their skills at shows around Irvine and Newport Beach, California USA, it wasn't until Gadhia and Tilley started college that the band began to turn into something more than a hobby.

Following the release of a 7-song EP, the band embarked on a 2009 tour and caught the attention of Roadrunner Records. After opening up for The Whigs and Kings Of Leon at Chicago's House of Blues, the band signed with Roadrunner in August 2009.
Over the next year, when they weren't on tour, the musicians lived in Newport Beach and Los Angeles, writing and recording their full-length debut. They also acquired a new name. Formerly known as The Jakes, they began calling the band Young The Giant in January of 2010 and in October the group released their self-titled first album. It peaked at #42 on The Billboard Top 200 Albums chart while the first single, "My Body", had held the #5 position on The Alternative Songs list. The second single, "Cough Syrup ", soared to #3 on the same chart and was followed by one more Hot Modern Rock top 30 hit, "Apartment".

In January 2014 Young The Giant released their sophomore album, "Mind Over Matter", via Fueled by Ramen. The disc's lead single, "It's About Time", became a massive smash on Alternative radio and the album hit the top 10 of The Billboard 200.


Young The Giant biography is an exclusive of 100xr.com

Young The Giant pictures:

  • Young The Giant band 2010 Young The Giant band 2010
    Group shot 2010